Winona Lee Fletcher Award Winners

BTN recognizes outstanding contributions to Black Theatre through the Winona Lee Fletcher Awards for Outstanding Achievement and Excellence in Black Theatre. Established in 1994 and named after the leading theatre educator, the award has been presented to the following:

James L. Nederlander, Jr. (producing)
Voza Rivers (costume design)

Pearl Cleage (playwriting)
Lou Bellamy (producing, directing and teaching)

Buddy Butler (education)
Adilah Barnes (producing/performance)

Philip Rose, Producing
Sidney Poitier, Acting and Activism
Ruby Dee, Acting and Writing
Glynn Turman, Acting
Tyler Perry, Producing and Audience Development

Ruth E. Carter (costume design-television and film)
Paul Tazewell (costume design-Broadway)
Myrna Colley-Lee (costume design-regional theatre)
Kathy Perkins (lighting design and scholarship)
Carlyle Brown (playwriting)

Hattie Winston (acting and performance)
Harold Wheeler (musical composition, arranging and conducting)
Sandra Reeves Phillips (acting and singing)1994

James Avery (film and television performance)
Felix Cochren (scenic and costume design)
Quentin Easter and Stanley Williams, Lorraine Hansberry Theatre (producing)1996
Ed Burbridge (scenic design)

Vinnie Burrows (acting & solo performance)
Thomas Pawley (scholarship and education)
St Louis Black Repertory Theatre1998

James V. Hatch (research and scholarship)
Ted Shine (playwriting and education)
Lloyd Richards (directing and education)
August Wilson, (playwriting)

Ed Burbridge (scenic design)
Shirley Prendergast (lighting design)
George C. Wolfe (writing, directing and producing)

Barbara Ann Teer (institution building)
Abena Joan Brown (producing),
Vinnette Carroll (directing),
Vivian Evans Robinson (audience development)
Ntozake Shange (writing for the theatre)
Dr. Margaret Wilkerson (scholarship)

Presidential Pathfinder Award Winners

The BTN Presidential Pathfinder Award is presented to an artist or an institution that illuminates a path to innovations and new concepts in Black Theatre. This honor was first awarded by President Lundeana Thomas in 1996 to playwright, Suzan-Lori Parks.

2014 - S. Epatha Merkerson
2012 - Tarell Alvin McCraney
2010 - Daniel Banks & Adam McKinney, DNAWorks
2006 - Darrell Willis of the Dunbar Repertory Company
2004 - Karamu House and Ralph and Bonnie Greene with the Unity Theatre Ensemble
2002 - Elizabeth VanDyke and Will Power
2000 - Keith Antar Mason
1998 - Rhodessa Jones and Idris Ackamoor of Cultural Odyssey
1996 - Suzan-Lori Parks

BTN's Past Presidents

*Luther Wells served as Acting President 2010 - 2011; Artisia Green served as President Elect 2010 - 2011.

Lifetime Membership Award Winners

Lifetime Membership is a distinguished honor of the Black Theatre Network, bestowed by the Executive Board. This honor recognizes an individual who has provided long and recognizable services to the organization.

2014 Dr. Feda Scott Giles
2012 Lundeana Thomas, Carlton Molette and Barbara Molette
2010 Kathryn Ervin and Phillip Walker
2008 Judith Stephens Lorenz
2006 Lawrence and Regina Barclay
2004 Floyd Gaffney
2002 Sydney Best and Barbara Vojta
2000 Lucy M. Walker and J. W. Lewis
1998 Margaret Wilkerson
1996 Woodie King, Jr.
1994 Vernell Lillie
1992 Ethel Pitts-Walker
1991 Winona Fletcher